Washington Title Image Large
© Pete Saloutos/Panoramic Images (Washington Title Image Large)

Recognition Programs

Recognition programs reward producers for pursuing conservation activities. We list here only a couple of private recognition programs.

Farming and the Environment Vim Wright Award

The Vim Wright Award is offered by Farming and the Environment to bring together farmers and environmentalists in honoring farmers and ranchers whose stewardship practices are protecting the quality of our food and the long-term health of Washington's ecosystems.

Named after the late Vim Wright, a tireless advocate for protecting Washington’s environment and keeping family farms in business, the award publicly recognizes and financially rewards Washington state stewardship farmers. 

Cecil D. Andrus Leadership Awards

Sustainable Northwest’s annual Cecil D. Andrus Leadership Awards for Sustainability and Conservation recognize two leading examples of successful entrepreneurship in pursuit of sustainability—one urban, one rural—from across the American Northwest.

The Andrus Leadership Awards are awarded to individuals, businesses, non-profit organizations, or collaborative, community-based efforts that exemplify entrepreneurship in pursuit of sustainability – with a demonstrated commitment to conservation of the environment, service to the community, adaptability and innovation, and to leading others on a similar sustainable path.

Copyright © 2024 NatureServe. All Rights Reserved.