Pennsylvania Heritage Areas


State Heritage Areas are large geographic regions or corridors of the Commonwealth that span two or more counties.  These areas contain a multitude of historic, recreational, natural and scenic resources of state and national significance that collectively exemplify the heritage of Pennsylvania.

Data Layer Description


Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, Bureau of Conservation and Recreation



Scale: 1:50,000


Pennsylvania’s heritage areas program has made the Commonwealth a national leader in the heritage areas movement. Pennsylvania is home to 12 state designated Heritage Areas. Five of these state Heritage Areas have also been designated as National Heritage Areas. Pennsylvania has more national heritage areas than any other state in the country. Established in 1989, the Heritage Areas Program is a smartly built, multi-faceted regional strategy to conserve and enhance those resources and promote its heritage for tourism development. It is also a key component in the state’s second leading industry –tourism.

How to get the data layer

Visit the Heritage Area map.

How to get more information

For more information on Heritage Areas, visit the DCNR Heritage Area website.

Access and use constraints

Attribution (BY)


Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources 2012.

Sample Map

Copyright © 2019 NatureServe. All Rights Reserved.