Conservation Partners in Maryland

Maryland is home to many organizations working hard to understand and protect the lands, waters, plants, and animals that make the Old Line State so special. The LandScope team works closely with some of the best of those organizations; learn more about them here.

Local Land Trusts

Land Trust Group County Website
Accokeek Foundation PRIN http://accokeekfoundation.org/
American Chestnut Land Trust CALV http://acltweb.org/index.cfm
American Farmland Trust MD and beyond http://www.farmland.org/
Annapolis Conservancy Board (City of Annapolis) ANNE http://www.ci.annapolis.md.us/government/boards-and-commissions/annapolis-conservancy-board
Appalachian Trail Conservancy, Inc. MD and beyond http://www.appalachiantrail.org/
Baltimore Green Space BACO http://baltimoregreenspace.org/
Black Swamp Creek Land Trust, Inc. PRIN http://blackswampcreeklandtrust.com/
Burkittsville Preservation Association FRED http://www.burkittsvillepreservationassociation.org/
Calvert Nature Society CALV http://calvertparks.org/about.html
Carroll County Land Trust, Inc. CARR http://www.carrollcountylandtrust.org/
Catoctin Land Trust FRED http://www.cltrust.org/
Caves Valley Land Trust, Inc. BACO https://www.landcan.org/local-resources/Caves-Valley-Land-Trust/503/
Cecil Land Trust CECI http://www.cecillandtrust.org/
Charm City Land Trusts BACO https://charmcitylandtrusts.org/
Civil War Trust MD and beyond http://www.civilwar.org/aboutus/
Conservancy for Charles County, Inc. CHAR http://www.conservecharles.org/
Conservancy of Broad Creek, Inc. PRIN http://www.theconservancyofbroadcreek.org/about.html
Cove Point Natural Heritage Trust CALV http://www.covepoint-trust.org/
Crownsville Conservancy, Inc. ANNE http://www.crownsvilleconservancy.org/
Eastern Shore Land Conservancy, Inc. QUEE http://www.eslc.org
Greater Ruxton Area Foundation, Inc. PRIN http://ruxtonfoundation.org/
Greater Sandy Spring Green Space, Inc. MONT http://www.sandyspringgreenspace.org/
Gunpowder Valley Conservancy BACO http://www.gunpowderfalls.org
Harford Land Trust, Inc. HARF http://www.harfordlandtrust.org/about-us.html
Howard County Conservancy HOWA http://www.hcconservancy.org/
Humane Society Wildlife Land Trust MD and beyond http://www.hswlt.org/
Kensington Land Trust MONT http://www.kensingtonlandtrust.org/
Land Preservation Trust BACO http://www.thelandpreservationtrust.org/
Long Green Land Trust BACO http://www.lgvc.org/
Lower Shore Land Trust WORC http://lowershorelandtrust.org/
Magothy River Land Trust ANNE http://www.magothyriver.org/mrlt/
Maryland Historical Trust ANNE http://mht.maryland.gov/
Mount Washington Preservation Trust BACO http://naturesacred.org/sacred_places/mount-washington-preservation-trust-inc/
NeighborSpace of Baltimore County, Inc. BACO http://www.neighborspacebaltimorecounty.org/
Patuxent Conservation Corps, Inc. HOWA http://www.mdconservation.org/
Patuxent Tidewater Land Trust STMA http://www.patuxent-tidewater.org/
Potomac Conservancy MONT http://potomac.org/
Rockburn Land Trust HOWA http://www.rockburnlandtrust.org/
Scenic Rivers Land Trust ANNE http://www.srlt.org/
South Mountain Heritage Society FRED http://southmountainheritagesociety.org/
Southern Calvert Land Trust CALV http://www.southerncalvertlandtrust.com/
Sugarloaf Countryside Conservancy, Inc. MONT N/A
The Manor Conservancy, Inc. BACO http://www.themanorconservancy.org/
The Valleys Planning Council, Inc. BACO http://www.thevpc.org/about-the-vpc/mission/planning-preservation/
Trust for Public Land MD and beyond http://www.tpl.org/
Urban Ecosystems Restoration DC area http://www.urbanecosystemrestorations.org/
Wetlands America Trust - Ducks Unlimited, Inc. MD and beyond http://www.ducks.org/philanthropy/wetlands-america-trust

Watershed Groups

Company Contact website
West/Rhode Riverkeeper Chris Trumbauer http://www.westrhoderiverkeeper.org/
Weems Creek Conservancy   http://weems-creek.org/
Upper Chesapeake Watershed Association 410-275-8483  
Talbot River Protection Association Patricia Betlejewski http://www.talbotrivers.org/
Spa Creek Conservancy Mel Wilkins http://www.spacreek.org/
South River Federation Erik Michelsen http://www.southriverfederation.net/
Severn River Association Kurt Riegel http://www.severnriver.org/
Severn Riverkeeper Fred Kelly severnriver.org
Sassafras River Association Kim Kohl sassafrasriver.org
River Network Mary Ellen Olcese rivernetwork.org
Potomac Riverkeeper Ed Merrifield potomacriverkeeper.org
Potomac Watershed Partnership   potomacwatershed.org
Patuxent Riverkeeper Fred Tutman cleanpatuxent.org
Patuxent River Association Ken Hranicky  
Patapsco River Conservation Association Stephen J. Stover  
Mattawoman Watershed Society Jim Long mattawomanwatershedsociety.org
Maryland Coastal Conservation Association Andy Hughes ccamd.org
Magothy River Association Paul Spadaro magothyriver.org
Lower Susquehanna Heritage Greenway Mary Ann Lisanti lshgreenway.org
Jones Falls Watershed Association Halle Van Der Gaag jonesfall.org
Howard County Watershed Stewards Academy   HowardWSA.org
Gwynns Falls Watershed Association   gwynnsfalls.net
Clean Water Action John DeCock cleanwateraction.org
Chester River Association Robert W. Parks chesterriverassociation.org
C&O Canal Association Rachel Stewart candocanal.org
Bohemian River Assocation Capt. Peter Kline bohemianriver.org
1000 Friends of Maryalnd Dru Schmidt-Perkins friendsofmd.org

County Agricultural Preservation Programs

Program Website
Allegeny County  
Anne Arundel County http://www.aacounty.org/departments/recreation-parks/agricultural/
Baltimore City  
Baltimore County https://www.baltimorecountymd.gov/Agencies/planning/landpreservation/index.html
Calvert http://www.co.cal.md.us/index.aspx?NID=542
Caroline https://www.carolinemd.org/242/Agricultural-Land-Preservation
Carroll County http://ccgovernment.carr.org/ccg/agpres/
Cecil County http://www.ccgov.org/government/land-use-development-services/planning-zoning-division/agricultural-preservation-information
Charles https://www.charlescountymd.gov/pgm/planning/land-preservation
Dorchester http://www.dorchestercountymd.com/planning-zoning/sustainable-growth/
Frederick https://frederickcountymd.gov/103/Agricultural-Land-Preservation
Garrett https://www.garrettcounty.org/planning-land-development/land-preservation
Harford http://www.harfordcountymd.gov/366/Agricultural-Preservation
Howard http://livegreenhoward.com/green/health/ag-preservation-easements/
Kent https://www.kentcounty.com/planning/ag-preservation
Montgomery http://montgomeryplanning.org/planning/agricultural-reserve/
Prince George http://www.pgscd.org/preservation_programs.html
Queen Annes https://www.qac.org/538/Agricultural-Preservation-Advisory-Board
Somerset  
St. Mary's https://www.stmarysmd.com/ded/MALPF.asp
Talbot http://www.talbotcountymd.gov/index.php?page=LandPreservation
Washington http://www2.washco-md.net/planning/ag_pres.shtm
Wicomico https://www.wicomicocounty.org/421/Agricultural-Preservation
Worcester http://www.co.worcester.md.us/departments/env/natural/agri

Contribute to LandScope

Want to join, work with us or simply find out more? Learn how you can get involved.

Contribute

Copyright © 2018 NatureServe. All Rights Reserved.