© Chesapeake Bay Program (Chesapeake)

Chesapeake Cultural Assets Density


A Geographic Information System (GIS) was used to integrate select data sets, map the coincident areas important for cultural resources, and highlight cultural properties that are a priority for preservation.  There were five categories of cultural sites, features or areas assessed in this model.  They consist of National Historic Landmarks, National Historic Districts, National Historic Register Sites, state inventoried sites and archaeological sites.  With the exception of archaeological sites, all are point data sets.  

Data Layer Description


The Chesapeake Bay Program


Maryland, West Virginia, Pennsylvania, Virginia and Washington, D.C. (Chesapeake Bay watershed)


The objective of the cultural assessment is to identify lands that provide cultural assets and further inform preservation efforts with spatial information about cultural lands.  This spatial information about cultural resources can provide an added value to land preservation because cultural lands provide a historic perspective for interpreting land and people’s relationship with it. Additionally, the value of an historic or cultural site is often intrinsically tied to the landscape context in which it is located.     

How to get the data layer

Download it here.

How you might make use of this data layer

This layer is designed to help the user identify cultural and historically significant areas in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed.

How to get more information

Contact John Wolf.

Sample Map

Copyright © 2019 NatureServe. All Rights Reserved.